Fundamental Principal

Ayurveda teaches us to live longer and increase our energy to it s full potentiel. Based on yoga, nutrition, healthy lifestyle and above all, 3 principals called the Doshas. The Doshas are the 3 dynamic energies in the body and are responsible for mind and body functions. The 3 Doshas are Vata, Pitta and Kapha.

Kapha – earth, water / Vata – air, ether/space / Pitta – fire, water

Vata comes from space (ether) and air. By virtue of its elements, it is responsible for physical and intellectual ability, respiration, elimination, movement, blood circulation, language and foetal development.

Pitta comes from fire and water. By virtue of its elements, it is responsible for digestion, temperature regulation, skin condition, joy, kindness, intellect, and vision.

Kapha comes from earth and water. By virtue of its elements, it is responsible for anatomical structure, consistency, flexibility, patience, strength and secretions.

Emotions, diet, environment and lifestyle can be the source of imbalances. They are taken into account in the diagnosis which aims to treat the person holistically. To do this, Ayurveda calls upon diet, herbal medicine, yoga…and massages.

Body functioning

These three vital energies are intertwined. Each one has a specific role in the body.

To put it simply, we could say that VATA oversees all movement, motor skills and distribution. PITTA regulates heat (digestive fire), transforming ingested foods into fuel and redistributing heat in the body.

As for KAPHA, it oversees the body’s foundation and building blocks. It manufactures all secretions (mucus, digestive juices etc.) and is also in charge of renewing the skin and the cells in the digestive tract.

Prakriti : constitution

Each person is unique and is distinguished by their differences. The Ayurvedic constitution is determined at the time of conception, and is called “Prakriti.” It does not change, but can be modified over the course of one’s life and can be imbalanced by poor daily habits such as poor eating, lack of sleep, and stress etc.

The Prakriti is determined by 1 or 2 doshas. There are 7 types of possible combinations. Three types of prakritis with one dominant dosha: Vata, Pitta or Kapha. Three types with two dominant doshas: Vata/Pitta, Vata/Kapha, Pitta/Kapha, and the seventh type where the three doshas are present: Vata/Pitta/Kapha. Each prakriti has its own unique proportions and its own variation of the doshas.

According to Ayurveda, the prakriti is the natural state in which we are born. Knowing your own natural balance allows you to adapt your lifestyle, your nutrition, the asanas of yoga etc., so that you can take better care of your health.

Know your Prakriti

Here are the main characteristics of the predominant doshas: Vata, Pitta or Kapha

Vata PittaKapha
– dry hair
– dry skin, protruding veins
– irregular appetite
– constipation
– short sleep duration, restless night
– cold  intolerance
– low stamina
– anxious nervous
– flexible, indecisive, impulsive 
– prefers sweet, salty, sour flavours 
– fins hair, soft, greying
– shinny/oily skin, redness
– large appetite
– heartburn, acidity
– good sleep
– heat intolerance
– average stamina
– irritable, angry, dominating
– factual, critical
– prefers fresh, spicy, sour flavours
– thick, shiny hair
– Soft skin, pale
– moderate and consistant appetite
– feeling of bloating, heaviness after meals
– heavy sleeper, difficulty waking up
– does not like cold and humidity
– good stamina, but slow to start
– calm, greedy, sentimental, 
– slow and stable
– prefers sweet and warm flavours 

Ayurvedic  natural medecine is recognized by  WHO.

« Without the earth, there would be no foundation.  Without water, nothing would hold together. Without fire, nothings could ripen or be refined. Without air nothing could develop and grow, and without space there would be no chance or no place to growth to be possible. »– Dr Yeshi Dhonden

Shopping Basket
Scroll to Top